Skip to content

12 Christmas things

December 20, 2007

My sweetheart Kelly (Star of the famous YouTube show KikiVision) tagged me to do this Meme. It’s 12 random things about me and Christmas. Here are the “rules”: 

1. List 12 random things about yourself that have to do with Christmas
2. Please refer to it as a ‘hoopla’ and not the dreaded ‘m’-word (which, for you bloggy newbies, is meme)
3. You have to specifically tag people when you’re done. None of this “if you’re reading this, consider yourself tagged” stuff is allowed…then nobody ends up actually doing it. The number of people who you tag is really up to you — but the more, the merrier to get this ‘hoopla’ circulating through the Blogosphere.
4. Please try and do it as quickly as possible. The Christmas season will be over before we know it and I’d like to get as many people involved as possible.

__________________________________________ 

__________________________________________

1. For the last 10 years I have been lucky enough to work for a company that shuts down completely between Christmas and New Years. It’s part of what I look forward to the most about the holidays; time off work, re-energizing quiet time.

2. Our Cat Bailey loves the holidays. The house is fully decorated with ornaments, garland and bows. As Kelly says, from Bailey’s perspective, we’ve hung cat toys everywhere.

3. For the first time in my life, I am not stressed about getting my significant other the “perfect” gift. I know Kelly will love it, no matter what it is. And even if she doesn’t, she won’t think I’m the worst boyfriend ever who is just not “in-tune” with her.

4. Every year for the last several years, I bring in a bottle of Baileys to the office and my friends and co-workers enjoy a little festive cheer with their mid morning coffee. This year, I brought Caramel Baileys. Yum.

5. We have had two Christmas trees each year since we moved into this house ten years ago. An artificial tree in the front window in the den, and a real tree in the family room at the back of the house. The real tree is always my favorite.

6. I send out about 20 Christmas cards every year. I like to send funny ones instead of “normal” cards. This year there was nothing funny that I liked, so I opted for the very pretty cards and a few Snoopy ones.

7. I got Kelly 5 small gifts for Christmas. They are wrapped and under the tree. Every single day I think of something else I could have gotten her instead.

8. I decorate my area at work with a little mini Christmas tree. It’s a little Charlie Brownish, but I like it. Here’s picture of it.

desktree.jpg

9. I don’t like candy canes. I never have. I don’t mind the custom flavour ones, like banana, or orange or cherry, but I can do without.

10. However I DO like fruitcake. My mother makes two kinds and I love both of them. They are moist and rich and probably oh so bad for you. They are great with a nice cup of coffee. (with a touch of Baileys in it, of course)

11. When opening a gift, I believe the only proper way is to just have at it and rip the paper in as many bits as needed to get to the prize inside. Those who carefully try to unwrap it slowly, preserving the paper as though it will someday be re-used make me nuts. It won’t be re-used. Go crazy, get in there!

12. I don’t actually recall ever sitting on Santa’s lap. I think I may have at some point. But I have no re-collection of it.

I really don’t have anyone to tag, but if you read this and enjoyed it, perhaps you can consider doing your own before Christmas. Oh oh, I broke the rules. I am going to go hide in the basement now. I think I hear the meme police coming.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2007 10:58 pm

    I hate to tell you this, but I carefully unwrap presents then fold up the paper for re-using next year before I open the box and see the gift. Yikes!

  2. Mary permalink
    December 20, 2007 11:59 pm

    1. Every year my folks and I say we won’t exchange presents. And every year, somehow each of us finds things at the last minute that tickle us so much we have to buy it for one of the others.

    2. I had a red dress trimmed with white when I was about 3 yo… a true elf!

    3. My favorite Christmases are warm enough to go hiking in a sweater and admire the gifts God gave us.

    4. My grandmother had a Christmas tree stand that was a music box. You’d wind it up and it would play music and rotate the tree (which was artificial). The electrical must have come through the trunk, because I don’t remember issues with cord getting wrapped up.

    5. Christmas with the extended family was always a brunch. My favorite food was the curried fruit, closely followed by the cheese grits.

    6. When I was growing up, Dad would always choose one or more of his presents to proudly show off at the family gathering. Of course I would be busting with pride if he picked one that I gave him.

    7. Early in my career I couldn’t take vacation to connect Christmas to a weekend. My parents and brother drove about 9 hrs to come to me. That was my best Christmas ever.

    8. A few years ago I spent Christmas with friends in Sweden. We got up around 4 a.m. go to the early candlelit service at an old wooden church. Here’s what I mean by candlelit… there were two live trees at the front of the sanctuary with real candles on the branches – just like in the Christmas cards, there were candelabras hung from the ceiling with live candles, and somehow the benches even had a way to hold candles. It was beautiful and quite bright!

    9. My grandmother’s tree had strings of lights fashioned like little Japanese lanterns with small red tassels hanging under each one.

    I think rules are made to be broken, so I’ll stop here!

  3. December 21, 2007 1:20 am

    Okay a Jew confesses…not our tradition but I am…when I was very young a couple of times we had a small tree that stood on a low table. It had all blue glass balls and lights. (I think my parents called it a Chanukah bush). I remember the year, age 10 I think, I told my parents we shouldn’t celebrate Christmas any more, just Chanuakah, and how terribly disappointed I was when I came downstairs to no gifts disbelieving they had taken me at my word!

    I remember the year before that though when my father had built me a doll house, it was awesome with lights that worked, and a door bell that rang, it was as tall as I was, and fully furnished inside and out. On the roof was a colorful cardboard Santa and sleigh.

    I have a few vague memories of a chirstmas at my grandparents where there was a Christmas tree and gifts underneath. I remember the excitement of getting up in the morning to open the gifts.

    I’m glad I have those memories. I usually only remember the later envy of all my Christian friends who continued to have huge trees, tons of gifts and big feasts with their families when we no longer did any of that. Tomorrow I will visit one of those friends and we will sit next to her Christmas tree in her living room now and exchange Christmas and Chanukah gifts with each other acting like a couple of kids.
    We’ve been friends now for sixty-six and a half years! That’s a lot of Christmases and Chanukahs.

  4. December 22, 2007 8:13 am

    BAM! BAM!! BAM!

    Open up! RCMP!! [editor’s note: Royal Canadian Meme Police]…come out with your fingers clearly off the keyboard, Sylvain, and it will go easier for you!

    For me, your comment that you think of some alternative gift you could have gotten Kelly every time you pass the tree with your wrapped gifts for her already on display, really hit home. Fortunately, this year, I know I have a home run before I even approach the plate. Usually, Julia gives me subtle clues: “Buy me one of these!” in an email message, URL for the item included.

    That’s fine, as I know it will make her smile Christmas morning. But I want more than a smile! I want to hear her gasp, see her eyes get really big, and start “Oh. my!!”ing all over the place. I have managed to provoke it a few times over the years, and I’m good with that. No one should hit a home run every time! It diminishes the game when it’s a sure thing. This year, though…

    And, Sylvain, I LOVE fruitcake, too.

  5. December 22, 2007 6:55 pm

    Really enjoyed reading all these wonderful things. Excellent!

    There is another reason for opening presents carefully! I don’t do it for the paper. I do it for the thrill of opening the present. Opening presents is not something I get to do very often and it is exciting to take your time, draw out the process, enjoy every wonderful moment and hold onto the thrill of anticipation for as long as you can!!!!

    Annie
    xxx

  6. December 22, 2007 10:13 pm

    ahhh…sylvain, of kikipotamus fame 🙂

    thank you for the good vibes-Miss Keely appreciates it tremendously. 🙂

    do you know I’ve never attempted to eat a fruitcake. They look too much like plastic to me…lol.

Leave a Reply

