Skip to content

Rats!

February 20, 2010

Well, it finally happened.  I saw a rat. Not a happy and cuddly domestic pet rat, like Owen who moved in with us when Kelly first came to Windsor. No this was the wild-run-around-alleys-and-eat-garbage variety. And it’s in my garage.

I don’t know how it got in, or where it came from, but it’s here. I was backing my van out of the garage and just about to close the door when I spotted it running across the cement floor desperately looking for somewhere to hide.  It ran into a corner where there is a bunch of stuff stacked up, some wood, some windshield washer fluid, assorted pipes and sticks.

I parked the van and slowly approached the area. Was it still there? Did I miss seeing it scurry outside? I banged on the wall expecting it to shoot out. Nothing. I started to move things out of the way, one at time, and just as I was almost convinced it was gone, out it came. To say that it gave me the heebie-jeebies is a massive understatement. It was all I could do to not squeal like a school girl as hurried back outside. But instead of the rat running for the safety of the great outdoors, a sure escape route like a cat would do, it ran deeper into the garage. It ran into our workshop area, under one of the workbenches. This area has gone largely unused since my dad has stopped puttering around out there, and it’s become a mess of discarded or long forgotten items. There is no hope of digging a rat out of there, at least not for me.

So now what?

Well, I am certainly not going to kill it. Sorry, I can’t. I can’t and I won’t. So instead of going to the grocery store to pick up bread and roasted chickens (yes plural, I bought two so I could used the bones to make chicken stock, but that’s another story) I went to RONA to buy a live trap.

So, right now, in my garage, there is a little live trap baited with chicken flavoured cat food. I have no idea if this will work. Rats are pretty smart and unless he’s very hungry I’m not sure he’ll fall for it. But I’ll let you know tomorrow.

Then what do I do with it? I’m not saying. Rest assured it will be alive when we part ways, and it will be somewhere where it can live a happy rat life. It just won’t be anywhere near my garage.

Learning Every Day (LED): Today I researched and learned the theory behind making chicken stock. I say “theory” because I haven’t actually done it yet. I just read about it. I’ve purchased two roasted chickens and we had one of them for dinner saving the bones. I also de-boned the other, and set those bones and assorted chicken bits aside too. Tomorrow I will attempt to make chicken stock. Hopefully after that, I will make myself some yummy homemade chicken soup to help get rid of this cold.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2010 12:03 am

    Well obviously you forgot the most important ingrediant for making chicken soup. You need to be Jewish! Or at least it helps to be married to someone who is. DH makes excellent chicken soup and he is not J. But he is married to me. LOL
    Also you can use fresh uncooked chicken pieces then you have great flavor and lots of meat in your chicken soup. Chicken stock in the can adds flavor over water. Just my humble J. opinion. Actually DH is far the better cook than I.

    As for the rat, please let me know when it is safe to get down from this table I am standing on!!!

  2. February 21, 2010 9:09 am

    Oh, man. Now I’ll have to put surveillance on my garage. Like I don’t know what your plan is? HA.

    • February 21, 2010 12:54 pm

      LOL…I hadn’t thought of that, but maybe you should be careful of any packages in the mail over the next few days.

  3. Carmen permalink
    February 21, 2010 5:17 pm

    EEeekkk!!!! You better be heading West with that critter when you take it for a little ride to the county…..!!

  4. healthykitty permalink
    February 23, 2010 12:35 am

    I LOVE making soup. I regularly make my own stock (rarely using store bought). If you need ideas, let me know!

    I agree with Lynn – you can make stock from fresh pieces too. But me, I LOVE making it from a leftover carcass. Because then it is like getting a FREE DINNER!!!!!

    Which makes it taste even better. Really.

  5. February 23, 2010 10:22 am

    I would probably scream even though I’d hold one if it was in the pet store. We have something living in our nice warm compost bin right now. Hubby filled in the tunnel and it has returned. He assures me that it’s a rat. ICK!

    I have 2 cats and 2 dogs so I don’t even see spiders indoors; any buggies that do make it in get eaten. Time for a cat maybe? You can house him in the garage…

  6. kittykillkill permalink
    February 25, 2010 12:35 pm

    Ewww, ewww. You’re a better person than I am. I am just shivering at the thought of a rat.

  7. Erin permalink
    March 3, 2010 7:47 pm

    Uggg I hate Rats but I must say good for you for not killing it!

Leave a Reply

